Hrithik Roshan hasn’t seen much success in love story genre. Let’s take a look at the genre he has seen success in.

Krrish actor is back with another biggie…
After a hiatus of two years Hrithik Roshan will be back on silver screen with Ashutosh Gowariker’s epic love story Mohenjo Daro, releasing on August 12. The magnum opus is sure to do well, though it will be facing tough competition at the box office with Akshay Kumar’s Rustom releasing on the same day. While we can’t wait to watch the latest offering from Ashutosh Gowariker and Hrithik Roshan. One should not forget that it’s a love story set in world’s first civilisation. If we look back at all the love stories he has done in his career so far apart from his first and Jodha Akbar, none worked at the box office. Don’t believe us? We decided to look back at Hrithik Roshan’s career choices and his transformation throughout the years.

Kaho Na Pyaar Hai (2000) – Rs 44,27,50,000

Hrithik Roshan’s first movie as an adult lead, though started slow at the box office but went on to break records and became an all time blockbuster. Right from the film’s music to Hrithik’s performance, everything was applauded. Hrithik became an overnight star, won all the awards and the next big thing to look for.

He continued it with political thrillers like Fiza (2000) and Mission Kashmir (2000) both failed at the box office. He then went back to genre he started with, love stories and churned out back to back disasters like

Yaadein (2001) – Rs 14,64,50,000

Aap Mujhe Achche Lagne Lage (2002) – Rs 09,58,50,000

Na Tum Jaano Na Hum (2002) – Rs 08,14,00,000

Mujhse Dosti Karoge! (2002) – Rs 12,94,50,000

Main Prem Ki Diwani Hoon (2003) – Rs 17,79,50,000

Kites (2010) – Rs 47,84,50,000

The only exception in the above list was Jodhaa Akbar (2008) – Rs 56,04,00,000


Koi Mil Gaya (2003) – Rs 47,19,50,000

After back to back disasters in romance genre, Hrithik ventured into relatively new genre, not just for him but for Bollywood itself, sci-fi. And the gamble paid off and how, after this, Hrithik churned out one after another either action, adventure or sci-fi. Let’s have a look at other movies that followed after the success Koi…Mil Gaya.

Krrish (2006) – Rs 72,15,50,000

Dhoom 2 (2006) – Rs 81,00,50,000

Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara (2011) – Rs 89,96,00,000

Agneepath (2012) – Rs 1,15, 00,00,000

Krrish 3 (2013) – Rs 2,44,92,00,000

Bang Bang (2014) – Rs 1,81,03,00,000

and now,

Mohenjo Daro (2016)

Again Hrithik goes back to his roots, a love story. Let’s just hope, Mohenjo Daro turns out be another Kaho Na Pyaar Hai or Jodha Akbar rather than Na Tum Jaano Hum or Yaadein!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.